Home » Uncategorized » Come to the Dance!

Come to the Dance!

by the Rev. Ray Hess

At the Great Vigil on Easter Eve and on Easter Day at the 10:30 a.m. service, our choir sang the song “Lord of the Dance.” They did a really fun rendition of this lively song. They were effective, because the week after Easter I kept singing this song in my head! I wasn’t trying to do this, but it was just there playing away in my mind.

Easter BannerIt’s easy to forget that Easter is a season, not just one Sunday.  The Easter Season starts on Easter Sunday and continues fifty days until the celebration of Pentecost (June 4 this year). How can we celebrate this season?

It helps to think of the season as a wonderful dance, given by God.  We are all invited, even if we are not good dancers! The chorus of the song says it well, “Dance, then, wherever you may be, I am the Lord of the Dance, said he.”  Jesus is risen and invites us to dance with him in thanksgiving and joy.

There are some things we can do to dance with Jesus:

As I said in my Easter Day sermon at the 10:30 a.m. service, start each day by saying, “Alleluia! Christ is risen!” Before you get into your day, say this to yourself, silently or out loud. Several times a week, say the canticle “Christ our Passover.” This is a special canticle for the Easter Season found in the Prayer Book on page 83. It is part of the Morning Prayer service.

  • Read the gospel accounts about the empty tomb and the risen Jesus’ appearances to his disciples. See Matthew chapter 28, Mark chapter 16, Luke chapter 24, and John chapters 20-21.
  • Read Paul’s reflection on the meaning of the resurrection about thirty years after the event. See Romans chapters 6 through 8 and I Corinthians chapter
  • Watch for signs of the Risen Lord’s presence in your life and in the world around Where do you sense the presence of the risen Jesus?
  • Do something positive to bring the risen Lord’s love and justice to our community and the world. This does not need to be anything grand, just small actions to spread love and compassion.

 

Jesus is risen! Come dance with him this Easter Season! As the song says, “They cut me down and I leapt up high; I am the life that’ll never, never die; I’ll live in you if you’ll live in me – I am the Lord the Dance, said he.”

Leave a Reply

