Home » Uncategorized » Overcoming Stress

Overcoming Stress

by Sandra Crenshaw

Stress. The mere word conjures up stress in many of us. We live in a stress filled world and indeed stress is a universal issue that we face on a daily basis whether from work, school, family challenges, relationship issues, or just keeping up with the news and social media. Everyone has experienced overload at one time or another. In fact, the burdens of everyday life can be overwhelming depending on our given situation.

Stress and anxiety affect us both physically and emotionally. For me some of the effects of stress are headaches, muscle aches, fatigue, irritability, and depression.

I’ve been pondering how I can take better care of myself and overcome the pressure of stress. Some things I’ve come up with to de-stress include eating healthier,  exercising,  putting my phone away, writing down my worries, and spending time with family and close friends. But these are physical remedies. I decided I wanted a spiritual remedy so I started searching for Bible verses that I could meditate on to find peace, strength, and encouragement. Here are a few encouraging Bible quotes I found. So if you too are feeling stressed, perhaps these verses will help you know God’s peace and presence in stressful times.

John14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.

Romans 8:6 For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. Romans 16:20 The God of peace will soon crush Satan under your feet. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you.

Philippians 4:6,7 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

1 Peter 5:6,7 Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.

Psalms 37:5 Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him, and he will act.

Psalms 55:22 Cast your burden on the LORD, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved.

Psalms 103:1-5 Bless the LORD, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name! Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits, who forgives all your iniquity, who heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit, who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy, who satisfies you with good so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

Matthew 11:28-30 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

Luke 10:41-42 But the Lord answered her, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.”

Leave a Reply

