Home » Uncategorized » Pay Attention!

Pay Attention!

by the Rev. Ray Hess

Thoughts From Our Priest in Charge

Lent is a season for paying attention. It’s a time of year to focus on our relationship with God and with one another. It does not mean that we don’t do this the rest of the year, but it is difficult to maintain focus all the time. In our church year, Lent is set aside to help us pay attention to our lives. What is God doing in my life right now? How is the Spirit leading me? How are my relationships with the people around me? In what ways am I called by God to witness to God’s love and justice in the larger world of our state and nation?lent-wordcloud_2

These are all good questions!  I encourage us all to take some time during Lent to consider our answers to these questions. I find it helpful to find some quiet time and write about what is going on in my life. I have used a journal for many years in which I regularly write about my thoughts and my faith. I use a simple spiral bound notebook to do this. I find it interesting to look back and see what I was thinking a year ago.  However you do it, it can

be very helpful to reflect about your life, to pay attention to what God is doing in your life.

Each Lent, I make a “Lenten rule of life,” where I write down what I will take out of my life for the season, and what I want to add to my life. I try to remove some negative things in my life, such as being impatient or making unkind comments to other people. I add positive elements to my life, such as quiet time for prayer or quality time with my family or doing something to further God’s justice in our world. It’s good for me to write these things down and put my “rule of life” where I will see it regularly during the Lenten season.

God is constantly at work in our lives and our world. The problem is that we often are not paying attention to what God is doing. This Lent, I invite you to be attentive to the loving action of God in your life!

Leave a Reply

