Home » Uncategorized » November Thoughts from our Priest

November Thoughts from our Priest

Giving Thanks

by Father Ray Hess

With Thanksgiving coming up later in November, it’s a good time to think about giving thanks to God. This year, I have some special thanksgivings:

Deb and I are very thankful for the community of St. George’s. Over this year, you have welcomed us very warmly and helped us feel a part of the parish. I’m thankful for the good will, cheerfulness, and commitment of the people of St. George’s. I’m excited about our developing our ministry teams for Total Ministry in the coming year.

I give thanks for the beginning of the ministry of our new Music Director Tim Mascarinas. Tim began his music ministry with us on October 27th. Tim is a Masters student in music at Sacramento State University. He has many gifts in accompaniment and choir direction to share with us. Please welcome Tim into our parish community!Image

I thank God for the stewardship commitment of our parish through Grateful, Glad, and Giving. We will be receiving pledges for 2014 at the services on Sunday November 10th with the “Event” between services. I encourage us all to be generous in our giving for God’s work through St. George’s.

Deborah and I are thankful for the coming marriage of our daughter Heather on Saturday November 2nd in Los Gatos (part of the San Jose area). I will preside at the wedding, a great privilege for me as priest and dad. I also presided at the weddings of our sons Jarrod and Aaron; now I will have served as priest and dad for all our children! Heather is marrying James, her boyfriend of about 14 years. Deb and I are delighted to be a part of their wedding.

I encourage you to take some time this month to think about the blessings of your life and to thank God for them. God is good!

Leave a Reply

